Twitter is reportedly working on a new ‘leave this conversation’ button. As the name suggests, the button will allow you to leave a Twitter thread. For those who do not know, a Twitter thread is a chain of conversations that begins when someone replies to a Tweet.
A thread can go on forever till users keep on adding comments. Every user, who is part of the thread, will keep on receiving notifications from Twitter about every update. At some point, the notifications can be irrelevant and annoying but unfortunately there is no option available to leave a thread. As of now, you could only mute the entire thread to stop receiving notifications.
The new feature was spotted by Hong Kong-based security researcher Jane Manchun Wong. As per the screenshot shared by researcher, the feature will untag your username from the conversation. The screenshot also reveals that once you are removed from the thread, other users won’t be able to mention you again in the conversation. It also stops the notification for that thread but that does not mean that you can not view the conversation.
Recently, Twitter also announced that it is expanding the downvote test feature to more users. The move was announced by the company in a Tweet. “We learned a lot about the types of replies you don’t find relevant and we’re expanding this test –– more of you on the web and soon iOS and Android will have the option to use reply downvoting,” the Tweet read.
The company began the pilot of the feature in July last year. At that time, the feature was only available to limited users on the iOS platform.
For those who don’t know, the feature allows you to upvote or downvote on Tweet replies. As per the company, the feature will help to understand the type of replies users find relevant in a conversation. It is worth noting that the downvotes aren’t public and the upvotes are shown as likes.